Third was renamed Second in 1956 and renamed again as Standard in the early 80s.
But to cope with the legal requirements and to ensure that the superior class was always available to bring in loadsamoney, the railways needed to be very clever with their coach design. For lightly used services they cam up with the composite coach.
Guess what? These were called "brake composite".
And fbb bought one.
But fbb has not bought a real full-sized carriage, merely an 00 gauge model. It looked like this:-
The inside of the coach walls carried the number R428 and the chassis had a small "Triang" imprint. And here, ta da!, is R428.
Here is the real thing.
Caledonian Railway Single No. 123 is a preserved Scottish steam locomotive. The unique 4-2-2 was built by Neilson and Company in 1886, works No. 3553, as an exhibition locomotive. In 1914 it was placed on the Caledonian Railway duplicate list, and renumbered 1123. It entered London, Midland and Scottish Railway service in 1923 and the LMS renumbered her 14010 and gave her the power classification 1P. During the 1920s it was allocated to working the directors' saloon, but it was returned to ordinary service in 1930. The locomotive was withdrawn in 1935, by which time it was the last single-wheeled express engine running in Britain, and set aside for preservation.
... frighteningly expensive.
So perhaps fbb could "fettle up" his 43 year old model to make it look a bit better. Maybe - but that is another story and another blog.